Skip to content

Two

May 24, 2010

“Sammi?”

With effort, I reel my thoughts back from outer space
Desperately trying to reconnect my vision with my consciousness.

Her face looks mild.

Mildly curious.
Mildly concerned.
Mildly cautious.

“Sammi? .. Where do you go?”

I concentrate hard on her mouth,
Her lips slowly forming thoughts in my head.

“When you’re not here.. Where do you go? Take me there, Sam..”

I close my eyes..

The air smells warm here.
Humid
Salty
Alive
Calm.

I grow tall.
My feet taking root in the sandy soil.
The inner fronds of thought expanding from my mind.
Taking shape
Airing themselves in the breeze.

The water gently pats the edge of my consciousness;
Calm, steady reassurance.

I feel centred here.
My core is strong;
Grounded
Expansive
Peaceful.

Her eyes are closed too, now.

I feel her feet sinking into the soil beside me.
She grows taller,
Our roots intertwine,
And the edges of our thoughts brush together.

The waves continue to pat the shore of our togetherness.
Calm, steady unison.

“I’m here…”

“Me too.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2010 7:04 am

    Oh I so want to be there too 🙂

  2. May 24, 2010 7:40 am

    Actually would you mind if I was a cedar tree in the middle of a forest on the side of a mountain – I could see forever from there 🙂

  3. May 24, 2010 7:44 am

    Very nice description of dissociation, Sammi.
    Love the different takes on the prompt pic and all that can be interpreted into symbolism.
    I also love your poetical voice – your short story writing is broken into metre and it just flows.

    And, finally….some girls will do anything for a “root.”

  4. May 24, 2010 9:41 am

    I thought I was the only that could see it.

    Hmm perhaps I am more normal than I think.

    Thanks, Sammi

Leave a Reply

